Your Position: Home > News > Industry News

Something you should know about joining the army.

DATE: Aug 7th, 2023
1.What are the 3 types of military?

The term "military" typically refers to the armed forces of a country, which are organized into three main branches or types:

Army: The army is the land-based military branch responsible for ground warfare and defense. It is primarily focused on conducting operations on land, including infantry, armored, and artillery units. The army is often the largest of the three branches and is involved in various types of missions, from combat operations to humanitarian assistance and disaster relief.

Navy: The navy is the maritime military branch responsible for conducting operations at sea. It includes warships, submarines, and maritime aircraft. The navy is crucial for protecting the nation's maritime interests, securing sea lanes, projecting power, and supporting amphibious operations.

Air Force: The air force is the aerial warfare military branch responsible for conducting operations in the air and outer space. It includes various aircraft, such as fighters, bombers, transport planes, and reconnaissance aircraft. The air force plays a vital role in controlling the airspace, supporting ground operations, and carrying out strategic bombing missions.

In addition to these main branches, some countries also have specialized military units known as special forces or special operations forces. These units are highly trained and equipped to carry out unconventional and high-risk missions, such as counter-terrorism, hostage rescue, and reconnaissance.

It's important to note that the specific organization and naming of military branches can vary from country to country. Some countries may have additional branches, such as a separate Marine Corps or a Coast Guard, while others may integrate certain functions under different departmental structures. However, the army, navy, and air force are the three primary branches found in most modern armed forces.

2.Is there a weight limit to join the Army?

Yes, there are weight and body composition standards that applicants must meet to be eligible to join the U.S. Army. These standards are part of the Army's physical fitness requirements and are designed to ensure that recruits are physically capable of meeting the demands of military service.

The weight and body composition standards are based on the individual's height, age, and gender. They are measured using the Body Mass Index (BMI) and body fat percentage. The BMI is used to determine if an individual's weight is within a healthy range for their height, while the body fat percentage is used to assess body composition.

If an applicant's weight or body fat percentage does not meet the required standards, they may be considered overweight or have excess body fat, which could affect their eligibility to join the Army. In such cases, the individual may be required to undergo further evaluation, counseling, and physical training to meet the standards before being allowed to enlist.

It's important to note that the weight and body composition standards can change over time, and they may vary slightly depending on the specific needs of the Army. Additionally, each branch of the military may have its own specific standards, so it's essential to check with an Army recruiter for the most up-to-date information and requirements.

3.Can you join military with bad eyesight?

The policies regarding joining the military with bad eyesight can vary depending on the country, branch of the military, and specific roles within the military. Generally, mild to moderate vision problems can be accommodated through the use of corrective lenses (glasses or contact lenses), while severe vision impairments may have more restrictions.

Here are some general guidelines:

Mild to Moderate Vision Problems: In many cases, individuals with mild to moderate nearsightedness (myopia), farsightedness (hyperopia), or astigmatism can join the military as long as their vision can be corrected to meet specific visual acuity standards. Corrective lenses are usually allowed, and many military personnel wear glasses or contact lenses.

Severe Vision Problems: Severe vision impairments, such as extremely high refractive errors or certain eye conditions, may disqualify individuals from certain military roles or from joining the military altogether. However, these policies can vary, and some branches of the military may have waivers or exceptions under specific circumstances.

Color Vision Deficiency: Color vision deficiency (color blindness) can also be a disqualifying factor for certain military roles that require accurate color recognition, such as pilots, intelligence analysts, or certain technical specialties.

Laser Eye Surgery (Refractive Surgery): In some cases, individuals who have undergone laser eye surgery (such as LASIK or PRK) may be eligible to join the military after meeting certain recovery and visual stability criteria. However, policies on refractive surgery can vary among different military branches.

It's essential for potential military candidates to undergo a comprehensive medical examination, which includes vision testing, to determine their eligibility. Each branch of the military has specific medical standards that applicants must meet, and the final decision on eligibility lies with the military medical professionals.

If you are considering joining the military and have concerns about your eyesight, it is advisable to consult with a military recruiter or medical professional associated with the specific branch of the military you are interested in. They can provide you with the most up-to-date and accurate information regarding the medical requirements and potential accommodations for vision impairments.